Steering Group

The three SRMGI convening partners have appointed a Steering Group of three co-chairs to oversee the project:

Dr. Steven Hamburg

Dr Steven Hamburg
Chief Scientist, Environmental Defense Fund (EDF)

Steven Hamburg is EDF's public voice for its commitment to science-based advocacy and is responsible for the scientific integrity of EDF's positions and programs. His training and research specialty is in ecosystem ecology, with a focus on forests. Dr. Hamburg has served as an advisor to both corporations and non-governmental organizations and was awarded an Environmental Merit award by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for his climate change-related activities. He has published widely including in Nature and Science and has served as a lead author for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

Professor Laban A. Ogallo

Professor Laban A. Ogallo
Fellow, The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)

Prof. Ogallo is Kenyan, born in 1950. He holds B.Sc (Hons), M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in meteorology. He is a full Professor of Meteorology at the Department of Meteorology of the University of Nairobi, Kenya, where he was once a chairman of the department. His main areas of research interest include climate change, climate modelling, and the prediction and application of climate information in integrated disaster risk reduction and sustainable development efforts. He has actively participated in the IPCC climate change assessment activities. Prof. Ogallo Previously served as the Secretary (Chief Executive) of the Kenya National Council for Science and Technology, worked with WMO in Geneva, was the Founding Director of the IGAD Climate Prediction and Application Center (ICPAC), and is currently Coordinator of the IGAD/UNDP Project on building resilience capacity, is a fellow of, among others, the Kenya Academy of Sciences (KNAS), African Academy of Sciences (AAS), and TWAS. He has published widely in many journals.

Professor John Shepherd

Professor John Shepherd, CBE FRS
Professor, School of Oceans and Earth Science, University of Southampton, UK, and Chairman of Royal Society Working Group

Professor Shepherd is a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1999. He was the Deputy Director of the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research from 2001 to 2010. His current research interests include the natural variability of the climate system on long time-scales, the development and use of intermediate complexity models of the Earth climate system for the interpretation of the paleoclimate record, and for long-term projections of climate change. Professor Shepherd served as Chair of the Royal Society working group on geoengineering.